Accessible Nature, All For Nature & Nature For All, Blog

All For Nature & Nature For All Campaign – Beginning of a Journey 

The 8th and 15th July I will beginning my journey of making nature accessible all. By doing an access   audit, for Shropshire Wildlife Trust which will encompass their six most popular visited nature reserves. I will be looking at these sites from the perceptive of a disabled person and there will be many factors in which I will be taking into consideration:

  • Access/e.g. paths, stiles, and gates
  • Seating
  • Interpretation
  • Sensory Experience
  • Public Transport links
  • Facilities

These six elements will incorporate a wide range of disabilities and I hope to produce findings from the questions which make up my access audit. I will be presenting my initial findings in the form of a presentation to the Shropshire Wildlife Trust.   With the hope that they will take my data further and that we will go forward in pursuit of making these sites accessible to all.

 

 

Featured image shows woman in a wheelchair stuck under a barrier at nature reserve.

Leave a comment